Church Leadership

The Session

Elders make up the church’s governing body which is called the Session.  FPCSL, like all Presbyterian churches, is a representative democracy. The word “Presbyterian” actually comes from the Greek word presbuteros which means “elder.”

Moderated by the pastor, we are governed by elders who are democratically chosen from and by the entire congregation. Governance and authority over church matters resides with these elected elders.  Our Session oversees the day-to-day-work of the church. The Session is composed of 9 ruling elders. Elders serve a three-year term.

Rev. Michael Horlocker, Moderator
Class of 2015 Class of 2016 Class of 2017
Donna Rae Anne Lyke, Clerk Kyle Colley
Ann Clifton Kim MacNish Pete Eichinger
  Ron McClintock Tom Goodman
     Matt Mueller








The role of the Deacons is one of “sympathy, service and witness” to the love of God as shown in the life of Jesus Christ.  In the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A), the office of Deacon is designed “to minister to those in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.” (Book of Order, G-6.0402). The origin of “deacon” is the Greek word diakonos, “servant.”

At First Presbyterian Church we have an elected Board of Deacons who oversee various mission projects and, with the pastor, provide care and compassion to our church members and friends.

Class of 2015 Class of 2016 Class of 2017
Dorothy Esbrook Gwyn McClintock, Moderator Debra Allen
Virginia Breen Marci Mulligan Ed Beckstein
Jack Rae Stephanie Horlocker  Joyce Johnson

Comments are closed.